top of page

IATBLT Distinguished Practitioner Award


The Executive Board of the International Association for Task-based Language Teaching (IATBLT) vzw is pleased to invite nominations for the IATBLT Distinguished Practitioner Award. IATBLT members are invited to nominate individuals who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to the field of TBLT in practice.

The winner of the award will be presented with an award of €1000 (funded independently by the IATBLT vzw) and a certificate at the 10th International IATBLT Conference in Thailand in June 2023.

Selection criteria

The recipient will be selected on the basis of:

  • Outstanding professional leadership in the advancement of TBLT in practice

  • Inspirational and/or valuable contribution to practice through publications/resources

  • Mentoring of other practitioners

  • Active engagement in and/or service to the TBLT community.


Nominators are invited to highlight contributions that have benefited the work of the IATBLT, directly or indirectly, where appropriate.

Nomination procedure

Any member of IATBLT vzw may nominate an individual for this award (members of the Executive Board are only eligible to receive an award after their term of office has concluded). Nomination statements should be no longer than two double-spaced pages and should provide strong grounds for the nomination by clearly describing the nominee's contributions to the field of TBLT in practice, addressing the selection criteria above.

Please send the nomination statement to to IATBLT member-at-large, Laura Gurzynski-Weiss, at The deadline for nominations is 15 April, 2023,

The recipient of the award will be selected by a Selection Committee made up of six representatives of the Executive Board of IATBLT vzw who will submit their recommendation for the award to the President of IATBLT. The President makes the final decision.

bottom of page